Reviews

Our Visit to San Diego

  • Guest Kay & Jim
  • Date of stay 02/16
  • Review Submitted 03/03/16

My wife and I spent ten days at the Carriage House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From the day we arrived with the welcome card and bottle of wine and the specific information on restaurants certainly assisted in making our stay a great visit to San Diego. If we have occasion to visit that city again we would certainly stay at The Carriage House and enjoy again all the facilities provided.

Adorable, Comfortable Little Home

  • Guest Roz M.
  • Date of stay 02/16
  • Review Submitted 02/20/16

The Carriage House is a wonderful place to stay in San Diego. It’s beautifully decorated and a joy to look at. The bed is very comfortable, and you have everything you need: a large closet with drawer space, a small kitchen, dishwasher, washer-dryer, handsome plates and cups, a small coffee-maker and even parking right in front of the house. The owner sends a terrific handbook prior to the visit with directions for the various appliances and electronics, and she includes restaurant and shopping suggestions. The neighborhood is very quiet and well-situated: it’s a short drive to most places in San Diego. It’s really one large room, but the porch is lovely and the little patio-room gives a bit more privacy if there are two people. I’d go back tomorrow if I could.

Carriage House was a quiet retreat after a long day of sightseeing

  • Guest Joyce C.
  • Date of stay 02/16
  • Review Submitted 02/15/16

We enjoyed 9 wonderful days in San Diego. The location was great as it is close to many of the sights. Coming back to the Carriage House after a long day of sightseeing was very relaxing. It’s in a quiet neighborhood and within walking distance of Old Town (3/4 of a mile) and Mission Hills restaurants (1+ miles). We walked to Old Town a couple times. It’s a good workout – all downhill on the way there and very uphill in the way back! We enjoyed the Fig Tree and Harley Gray restaurants in Mission Hills. We caught the Old Town Trolley in Old Town which gave us a tour of the city. (You can get On and off). We drove to the zoo (must see) one day and Balboa Park another. They’re not far away and pretty easy to get to. We also enjoyed Seaport Village. Susanne and Elizabeth were quick to get back to us with any questions we had about The Carriage House. They’ve tried to anticipate any needs you could have and have provided for them. The kitchen is small but they have great pots, pans, spices, utensils, etc so we could make most anything. It’s a nice cozy retreat for a couple.

Charming Carriage House in the Heart of Mission Hills, San Diego, California.

  • Guest Mary A.
  • Date of stay 01/16
  • Review Submitted 01/31/16

My husband and I spent two weeks in the middle of January at The Carriage House. It is the perfect place for two people. Designer decorated one bedroom cottage, nicely equipped kitchen, living and dining area, open concept. Delightful enclosed porch to enjoy a rainy afternoon and a sunny deck for morning coffee. The location in Mission Hills San Diego made all attractions with in 15 to 20 minute drive. The attractions we loved are The San Diego Zoo, The Maritime Museum, Del Coronado Hotel, Baloa Park, Old Town, the Gas Light Quarter, the old Mission Church’s, Point Loma, Torrey Pines National Park and the many beaches. The Carriage House is located within walking distance to a fine deli, boutique shops, a wine bar, restuarants and coffee shops. Walking around the neighborhood was an achitctual delight, with many Mission and craftsman style houses to see. It was a peaceful place to return to after a hectic day of site seeing.

We Had a Great Stay at ‘The Horsey House’

  • Guest Jill
  • Date of stay 12/15
  • Review Submitted 12/17/15

my husband and 3 year old and I visited the carriage house last week, and it was a fantastic home base while we explored the city. Right near the airport, zoo, and shops and restaurants, we found it a great location. Mission Hills is a safe and fun neighborhood. My daughter loved all the horses in the house, and it was great how Suzanne accommodated her with a camping cot. We appreciated the fully stocked kitchen, and the quiet privacy. Would definitely stay again.

Peaceful, Energizing, Getaway

  • Guest Mary S.
  • Date of stay 11/15
  • Review Submitted 11/29/15

My husband I recently had a getaway at “The Carriage House.” Our first impression was Wow, Fabulous! The photos on the site don’t capture its quaintness. Mission Hills is a great location, walkable to restaurants and quiet. San Diego tourist areas are easily accessible. Prior to our arrival, Susan provided us with thorough instructions on getting to and accessing the property as well as operating the tv etc. it is apparent that “The Carriage House” is not only well maintained but loved. We look forward to staying at this property again sometime in the future.

Simply Wonderful

  • Guest Rita L.
  • Date of stay 10/15
  • Review Submitted 11/28/15

This was perfect for our short stay in San Diego. Location was great; lovely area to walk and short drives to so many area attractions. The small rental has large amenities–so cozy inside; nice sitting areas outside. The decorative details were appreciated and we felt very welcomed. I hope we’ll be able to go back next year!

Ideal San Diego Stay For 2

  • Guest Terri C.
  • Date of stay 10/15
  • Review Submitted 11/02/15

My husband and I spent a week here for our anniversary, and it was absolutely perfect for us. Such a charming little cottage, with lots of unique and thoughtful details. Part of the profit the owners use to help save wild horses, and the Carriage House is decorated with lots of vintage and genuine horse equipment and memorabilia, which we loved. The little private front deck was perfect and the neighborhood was wonderful, quiet with gorgeous homes and central to everything. We will be back!

Delightful

  • Guest Meranda C.
  • Date of stay 10/15
  • Review Submitted 10/19/15

A lovely little gem in the Mission Hills neighborhood. Close to everything! Beautifully landscaped and tastefully decorated. Looking forward to our next visit!

Perfect

  • Guest Stacia D.
  • Date of stay 10/15
  • Review Submitted 10/13/15

The Carriage House is a delightful oasis! Beautiful attention to detail, fun neighborhood, good location and a VERY comfortable bed. We spent three restful nights here and look forward to more when we visit again. Thank you

More Reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *